Reno DUI Attorney
Reno DUI Lawyer Attorney Profile Frequently Asked Questions Contact Us
DUI
Types of DUI
DUI Process
DUI Defense
DUI Penalties
DUI & Drugs
BUI
Breath & Blood Tests
DMV Hearings
Field Sobriety Tests
Leaving the Scene
Nevada DUI Law
Unlawful Police Stops
Vehicular Manslaughter
You're Under Arrest
10 DUI Myths
Facebook Twitter Google Plus
Instantly connect to our office. Visit our Blog

DUI Penalties in Reno

Have you been charged with DUI in Reno?

The penalty for driving under the influence of alcohol or drugsin Nevada can be very severe. Driving drunk poses a danger to everyone on the road, and strict enforcement of drunk-driving laws in Reno and the rest of the state is a top priority for lawmakers and police. If you or a loved one has been arrested in Reno and charged with DUI, contact a Reno DUI Attorneyas quickly as possible.

Drunk Driving Penalties Explained

Those convicted of DUI once in seven years can expect a minimum of two days in jail, with sentences up to six months, or 48 – 96 hours of community service. Fines of $400 - $1,000 may be levied in addition to assessment and chemical test fees. Drug and alcohol abuse counseling or education is also required. Lastly, the offender’s driver’s license will be revoked for 90 days, and an ignition interlock device may be installed on the vehicle for a period of up to three years.

Convicted of DUI twice in a seven years, the guilty party will spend anywhere from ten days to six months in jail. Fines of $750 - $1,000 will be imposed, as well as assessment and chemical test fees. An alcohol or substance abuse evaluation is mandatory prior to sentencing of 2-time DUI offenders, and attending drug and alcohol abuse counseling or educational classes is also required. The driver’s license is revoked for a full year, and the offender may be required to install an ignition interlock device on the vehicle for a period of up to three years.

DUI becomes a felony at the third conviction in seven years, and carries a prison term of one to six years, with fines between $2,000 and $5,000. Attending educational or counseling courses for alcohol and drug abuse is also required, as is an alcohol or substance abuse evaluation prior to sentencing. The driver’s license is revoked for three full years, and installation of an ignition interlock device on the vehicle will be required for three years. Once convicted of a felony DUI, all arrests that follow will be prosecuted as felonies and will carry with them substantially increased prison sentences.

I, Walter Fey, am a member and state representative of the National College of DUI Defense (NCDD), and am very experienced in defending cases of DUI in Reno. I have a proven track record of assembling a strong case to defend against all types of DUI charges, and will work hard to make sure you get the defense you deserve.

Contact a Reno DUI lawyer from the Law Offices of Walter B. Fey if you or a loved one has been charged with DUI in Reno.

888-339-4384
247 Court Street, Reno, NV 89501
The Law Office of Walter B. Fey - Reno DUI Attorney
Located at 247 Court Street Reno, NV 89501. View Map
Phone: (888) 339-4384 | Local Phone: (775) 329-1101.
Website: